Winners of the Philippine Blog Awards 2009

Grabbed from the Philippine Blog Awards website
Grabbed from the Philippine Blog Awards website

Bloggers trooped Friday night to the PETA-Phinma Theater in Quezon City for the Philippine Blog Awards 2009 which carried the theme “One Blogging Nation”.

I had the privilege of sharing the stage with Benj Espina of, a fellow crew member at Bloggers Kapihan, as presentors for the last four award categories. Last year, both Benj and I won awards for best personal blog and best news and media blog categories.

Here is a list of this year’s winners I was able to take note of through my Twitter posts Friday night:

Awarded too were the year’s top blog posts:

  1. The Parable of the Furry White Rabbit (Good Times Manila)
  2. Lost Gems Of Philippine History: The 1896 Board Meeting (It’s true! It’s true!)
  3. Finding Your Soul Mate: A Statistical Analysis (guttervomit)
  4. karnabal (tuyong tinta ng bolpen)
  5. The Diving Boys of Quezon Bridge (Dennis Villegas)
  6. Twenty Pesos (lost photograph)
  7. The way of the leaf (SMOKE)
  8. Portrait of a dramatic highlight in Nick Joaquin’s A Portrait of the Artist as Filipino (Gibbs Cadiz)
  9. Kaya Dumarami ang Bading Kasi… (Manila Gay Guy)
  10. The Amazing Bulul: A Story of Epiphany (The Cat Whisperer)

Special Awards

This year’s Bloggers’ Choice honors went to

Other special awardees were:

Also eliciting laughs and applause from the bloggers in attendance was this video by When in Manila:

Sponsored Awards

Good Times Manila won the Chikka Media-Philippine Blog Awards Reader’s Choice Award.

Globe named ten bloggers/blogs as part of what the company describes as its “Digital Tribe” for Luzon:

    1. Hay! Men! Ang Blog ng Tunay na Lalake
    2. Good Times Manila
    3. Enrico Dee of
    4. Marck Rimorin of The Marocharim Experiment
    5. Lori Baltazar of Dessert Comes First
    6. Cecil Zamora van-Straten of
    7. Karen Ang of bury me in this dress
    8. Dine Racoma of The D Spot
    9. Azrael Coladilla of Azrael’s Merryland
    10. Rico Mossesgeld of

      Noemi Dado, Janette Toral, Anton Diaz, Aileen Apolo and Manolo Quezon were dubbed  “Digital Elders”, also by Globe.

      Geisler-Maclang’s “Transformative Influencer Award” went to Jonel Uy of Lets Go Sago, who also won the grand prize — a Nokia E75 — in the grand raffle. was likewise awarded as the Flippish Viewer’s Choice for Personal Blog.


      It was also during our turn on the podium when the Philippine Blog Awards paid tribute to journalist and techie Alecks Pabico who died Wednesday. Pabico was multimedia editor of the Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism. He put he PCIJ on the worldwide web and made history with the PCIJ Blog, the first institutional blog of a major news organization in the country. With Pabico at the helm, the PCIJ won the best news and media award in 2007, and the best podcast award in 2008.

      Congratulations to all the winners and to the organizers as well. Thank you, too, Gang Badoy of Rock Ed Philippines for her keynote speech that should serve as a call to action to bloggers.

      Check out too these awards night photos:

      [As you can see, the list of winners cited here is by no means complete. I will update this as soon as I get more information on the other winners or if there is any correction.]