Website on Muslim Mindanao

Journalists and academicians recently launched a website, a virtual online resource center, on Muslim Mindanao.

From Stuff

This is good news for journalists and all those who wish to read about and understand this area and people of our country.

Read about it in this news release I am republishing here:

MANILA (26 January/AIJC) — What does ancestral domain mean? Who is the first and only Muslim National Artist? Is “Moro” different from “Muslim”? What are some lessons learned from the Mindanao peace process?

These and other questions and issues are answered in the Website on Muslim Mindanao at, which has been launched recently.

The website is a joint project of the UNESCO National Commission of the Philippines and Asian Institute of Journalism and Communication with the cooperation of Cybersoft and UNESCO Office Jakarta.

“The website provides an online resource primarily for journalists to provide them with information on the historical, socio-cultural and political context of Mindanao issues and the diverse perspectives involved, so that they may be able to cover the news on Mindanao with greater depth, balance and clarity,” said AIJC president Ramon R. Tuazon.

The website will also be useful for other communicators like advertisers, film makers, communication teachers and scholars, and “those who would like to contribute in building a peaceful Mindanao through genuine dialogue,” Tuazon said.

Website users can access the interactive maps of Cybersoft’s MapCentral to locate provinces, cities and municipalities, and barangays, with their streets and major landmarks, in Mindanao.

Aside from articles written by noted experts and scholars on Muslim affairs, the website features helpful tools like a directory of resource persons and Muslim officials, glossary of terms, population statistics, and historical documents.

Members of the editorial advisory board and staff include distinguished scholars and journalists, both Muslims and Christians, namely Dr. Florangel Rosario-Braid, Eric Canoy, Carlos Conde, William Esposo, Miriam Coronel-Ferrer, Datu Michael Mastura, Jose Pavia, Amina Rasul, Dr. Chito Salazar, Atty. Soliman Santos Jr., Dr. Samuel Tan, and Samira Gutoc Tomawis. (AIJC)

[Via MindaNews]